Lock and Load 2016

This post is a week late, but it’s better late then never. This was my third year going to lock and load. Every year something is a little different and it makes my weekend even better.  To everyone else that went, I hope you had just as much fun as I did.

This year there were more people from the Boise meta and the Twin Falls meta that came. It was a lot of fun. I am happy that more people were able and willing to come. I hope that next year we can have even more people show.

image (Everyone at dinner)

 

Anyways, Friday was the first day of the con. I started off by going pin hunting with my friend Kylie. We stood in line for about two to two and a half hours at the store so we could pre order our boxes for MKIII and get new shiny pins. Thank you Kylie and Rc for standing in line with me, it made the time go bye faster. One of the best parts about Friday was the worbla work shop with the Alliecat Art & Cosplay, Airbubbles Cosplay and Little Red Rogue. If you don’t know who they are you should check them out, they are all amazing. It was great learning and getting the feel of working with worbla. After the class I felt like I could start making weapons for my cosplays. Thanks ladies. Allie and Airbubbles and I had time to go to dinner and played some board games. It was a blast and I can’t wait till next time.

image(What we did in the worbla workshop)

Saturday Trent and I signed up for the Undercity Board game event and it turned out to be a lot of fun. I can’t wait for the expansions to come out. After that I did some more pin hunting and watched the cosplay contest. The contest was a little smaller this year. I hope that it picks back up because I like seeing what everyone comes up with. After that was dinner, then the keynote and then waiting in line for our new MKIII boxes. I went to bed soon after that, lol.

image image

Sunday Was a slower day. Started off playing my first game of MKIII with Trent. I happened to win. I had fun until after lunch. I started getting really tired and knowing we had to leave for the airport at a certain time, it made it feel like a waiting game. While waiting to head to the airport I hung out with Allie and Airbubbles some more, which made waiting better. When I got home I went to bed and pretty much slept for two days, hahaha.

image  (Airbubbles(Arielle), me & Allie)

image(Trent and I)

I finally got the pins I wanted/needed. I now have all the Protectorate pins. Woo! Below is all my old and new pins together, except for the few that I gave to Trent.

image

My goal for next year is to actually have Nicia finished. I already have a few things started for the cosplay and I feel like after lock and load I can do it justice!  As always I like meeting new people and making new friends. This year I meet Deadpool(Brad), Wayne (Immunity to Cold) and some other people. Hope to see all you guys again next year!

Leave a Reply

